[Project_owners] Mailing list subscriptions

Axel Hecht axel at pike.org
Mon Jan 11 05:08:09 PST 2010

On 11.01.10 11:52, Philip Chee wrote:
> On Mon, 11 Jan 2010 11:01:27 +0100, Marco Pivetta wrote:
>>> On 11.01.10 09:34, Onno Ekker wrote:
>>>> Hello,
>>>> Since yesterday I see a lot of users from @zeusmail.org subscribing to
>>>> my projects mailing lists. Do other project owners also see this, or am
>>>> I the only one?
>>>> Does anyone know what zeusmail.org is? Their website doesn't give too
>>>> much information: "It works!" is all there is.
>>>> I'm a bit afraid those addresses will be used for spamming. Is it
>>>> possible to moderate new e-mail addresses by default?
>>>> Onno
> Not just mozdev:
> Live 555 mailing list.
> http://lists.live555.com/pipermail/live-devel/2009-November/011475.html
> Dirvish mailing list
> http://old.nabble.com/Administrivia:-zeusmail.org-td26201838.html
> Quote:
> "Spamsign;  I moderated them.  Unless I hear otherwise, I will block
> that domain."
> listwork mailing list
> http://lists.indymedia.org/pipermail/listwork/2009-November/1105-iy.html
> thanks for having kept an open eye on this. You're right, what you saw
> is apparently the result of automated registrations, supposedly carried
> out by spammers to be later able to send spam though these mailing list
> without having their emails help for moderation.
> I have deleted 58 zeusmail.org users' subscriptions to individual
> mailing lists, all of which had been subscribed two days ago.
> Running the following command on thier Mailman logs should help other
> admins to determine whether they may have been hit by the same issue.
>> grep -E '^\w{3} [0-9]{2} [0-9]{2}:[0-9]{2}:[0-9]{2} [0-9]{4}
> \([0-9]{1,5}\) [._[:alnum:]-]+: new [A-Z][a-z]+\.[A-Z][a-z]+@[^,]+, via
> web confirmation$' /var/log/mailman/subscribe
> http://mailman.ccsds.org/pipermail/moims-dai/2009-November.txt
> I've been seeing a number of subscription requests from a number
> different names  but all from zeusmail.org to this list and other lists.
> When I request an introduction from the addresses, I don't get a reply.
> Unless I hear objections, I'm just going to start rejecting any
> subscription requests from zeusmail.org.
> https://lists.infrae.com/pipermail/silva-general/2009-December/001910.html
> We got subscription requests to three Silva mailing lists for three
> different names from zeusmail.org. Spamsign; I moderated them. Unless
> I hear otherwise, I will block that domain.
> Phil

Kicked those that I had taken for eu at mozdev.org, too.


More information about the Project_owners mailing list